Dr. Cory Buxton – Innovation 20/20 series

“Mock Job Interview as Final Exam in Teacher Education”

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmYLxQGam94&feature=youtu.be

Dr. Cory Buxton – Wednesday, October 24, 2012
2:00pm, 631 Aderhold

A number of years ago I became frustrated that the kinds of final exams or final projects that I would use in my classes were not giving me a clear picture of how my students were able to apply what they had learned to their thinking about who they wanted to be as teachers. I decided to try using a mock job interview format as a way to push my students to describe how they could make authentic use of what they learned. Students routinely tell me two things about the experience: 1) it scared them and made them study, and 2) it was the most valuable learning experience in the course.

Leave a Reply

